Case Study: Naloxone saves lives

Naloxone saves livesTrust me, I know because Naloxone saved mine and more than once.

I have been given Naloxone 3 times in my life when I have overdosed on heroin. Like me, most addicts don’t mean to overdose but unlike me not everyone has been so lucky. The last time I overdosed my mum saved me too. The paramedics later said that I was 30 seconds from being pronounced dead. It was mum who told them that I could have overdosed on heroin and they administered Naloxone and it got my heart beating again straight away.

I’m clean now and fulfilling my dream as a writer. If I had one wish it would be that Naloxone was available to people on the street with the training to administer it.

Download the case study here.

Leave a Reply

