Case Study: I am evidence that Naloxone works

Naloxone evidence it worksMy recovery began nine years ago. I had overdosed, an ambulance was called and Naloxone was used to save my life. I guess you could say that I was a ‘chaotic opioid user’. I was prone to overdose situations, often because of poly drug use. There have also been occasions in my life when I have overdosed and been left to chance and it was just sheer luck that I survived.

I know of many who have not been so lucky and some, like me, who would not be here today if Naloxone hadn’t been available at that time and place.

My life is full now. I am passionate about my work in advocacy, training and consultancy and I am currently in the process of relaunching our local mutual aid collective.

I am evidence that Naloxone works. Naloxone saved my life and kick started my recovery, yet it’s still a postcode lottery as to who will be saved and who will be left to chance. Hundreds of people who inject drugs accidentally overdose every year and don’t make it.

Like me, they could be here today.

Download the case study here.

One thought on “Case Study: I am evidence that Naloxone works

Leave a Reply

